Tags

, , , , , , ,


So, I recently read a book entitled Freshman Phenom, by CE Butler.  When I sat down to write, I had no aspirations of being a writer.  All I wanted to do was produce a captivating, entertaining story that was wholesome enough I would let my own kids read it.  That’s exactly the kind of story that Mr. Butler has produced with Freshman Phenom.

The story focuses on a young man named Will Stover.  Will and his teammates have focused their time and energy throughout junior high on making sure their freshman year is an opportunity to showcase their combined talents and win a JV championship in football.  Unfortunately for the JV team, the varsity squad has lost their starting quarterback and the coach thinks the backup is less talented than incoming freshman Will Stover.  Will is thrust into the spotlight and must deal not only with challenges on the football field such as bigger, stronger, faster opponents than he is accustomed to, he must also deal with the resentment of the JV squad as well as his new varsity teammates.

While football is present and is covered accurately, this story is more about the interaction and development of the characters.  The book shows Will and his friends dealing with their worries, self-doubts, jealousies, sorrows, and budding teen romance.  Everything is handled in a family friendly way, and Will’s relationship with his father and the rest of his family is a refreshing break from your average portrayal of the family as a disjointed and broken organization.

Overall, I would recommend this book to anybody – and I rushed to post this on a weekend because I discovered the book is free on Kindle today through July 14.  Go grab a copy!