Tags

, , , , , , ,


I remember one of the first albums I bought for myself.  It was Hack, by Information Society.  It was actually a cassette, and I bought it at the Wal-Mart in Murfreesboro, Tennessee in the spring of 1991 when I was on spring break.  Yes, while others were taking spring break in warm, sunny places, I spent that spring break in Birmingham, Alabama, Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and on the road between those places and the suburbs of Chicago.

I loved that cassette.  I had a generic walkman that I had purchased at the local grocery store and I would listen to those songs over and over and over.  As I listened to that album, I envisioned a grand story in my head, and this album was the theme song.  That story is NOT the Vergrinn War.  That story was a modern day or near future terrible things are happening type of story.

Here’s how it played out in my mind.  If you aren’t familiar with this album, this might mean nothing to you.  If you are a member of Information Society reading this, know that this is what was inspired in my imagination by your music (and let me know you stopped by, because that would just be pretty cool).

“Seek200” was the song for the opening credits.  “How Long” was an introductory tune while we saw the two main characters, whose love was the centerpiece of this story.  “Think” introduced some level of conflict as on character had to head out elsewhere.  “A Knife & A Fork” and “Now That I Have You” are mostly filler scenes, maybe introducing minor characters/sidekicks.

“Fire Tonight” introduced the problem.  Something is going on and there is chaos/rioting/emergency in town, leaving the two main characters separated.  “Can’t Slow Down” is our main character rushing across town through the chaos to the aid of his love interest.  “Hard Currency” through “Hack 01” were scenes as the hero and love interest meet back up.

“If Only” introduced more specific danger and the possibility that  our heroes might not survive the incident.  “Come With Me” was the hero and his love interest making one last dash for freedom.  “Slipping Away” was one of the heroes dying (even though the song sounds more like a breakup).  “Chemistry” was the epilogue and/or closing credits.

Have any of you ever been inspired to write a long narrative in your head by music you heard?  I have listened to lots of albums since then, and none of them have had quite that effect on me.

