Tags

, , ,


Yes, I am combining two scenes, but they are short.  You get a bonus scene for free, and it will conclude this story.  As I read this, I wonder why McCoy doesn’t sigh or shake his head.  I wonder why Scotty doesn’t swirl his whiskey in his glass.  I wonder why McCoy doesn’t make some gesture or other before his abrupt change of subject.  I wonder why we don’t see any crowd reaction and why we don’t see a description of anybody at all in the crowd (or the speaker).  In short, I read this and I realize that while I may have told an entertaining story, my style of writing left much to be desired.

I won’t say I was prescient, but I believe at the time I wrote this we only knew that McCoy had to survive to make it to The Next Generation, Scotty and Spock were not even rumors I had heard (and this was before the days of internet fan sites).  I also introduced a new captain and new ship when I killed off Kirk and the Enterprise, which they also did in 1994 in Star Trek: Generations.  Man, I was good.

I promise that if you read my books from the last couple of years, you will be blown away by the difference in writing style.  I have 20+ years of experience under my belt since then, and I have (I hope) put it to good use.  Yes, I did know someone named Elisabeth and yes, I knew folks with the last name of Day.  They did not, however, know each other and none of them are the inspiration for Elisabeth Day here.

Here’s the conclusion:

Epilogue

 

McCoy and Scotty were sitting in San Francisco having a drink at a local bar, discussing old times.  “How’s Spock doing nowadays?” asked Scott.

“He’s doing better, but he hasn’t fully recovered from his breakdown yet, and he might never do so.  Apparently, some Vulcans have a genetic tendency to lose control of their emotions as they age.  This process was accelerated by his human half and his close emotional ties to Jim.  This topic’s too gloomy.  What are you doing now?  I’m working on the Starfleet HQ medical staff.”

“The Admirals offered me an admiralcy in charge of Starfleet Engineering.  I’ll probably accept.”

***

Admiral Heihachiro Nogura stepped up to the podium and began his speech.  “Ladies and gentlebeings, friends and allies, I welcome you here today for two reasons: to christen a new starship and to introduce her new captain.  It is with great pleasure that I officially announce the promotion to the rank of Captain for Commander Elisabeth Day.”  She was a strong woman, physically and psychologically, and Nogura was thrilled.  She had graduated first in her class at the Academy several years before and had been a captain of the championship Outlast team.  She was one of those people who always got her way, not because she was spoiled, but because her desires coincided with the best interests of most people.  Everyone seemed to like her, including Nogura.

When the applause died down, Nogura continued.  “Now, I present to you the prototype of our new Nebula class heavy cruiser.  This new ship carries on a great naval tradition, being named after two military sailing vessels, two aircraft carriers, Earth’s prototype space shuttle, and two previous federation starships.  Its continuing mission, to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life, new civilizations… to boldly go where no man has gone before.  I give you the USS Enterprise!”

