Tags

, , , , ,


Yes, I missed both blog posts last week.  Yes, I do feel terrible about that.  Where does all of our time go?  Why can we never do all the things we want to do?  Quite simply, we fritter our time away on so many utterly mundane and meaningless things that we can’t be productive nearly as much as we should be (or would like to be).

Not all of our time is frittered away.  In the past two weeks, I have finished getting Book Three into paperback form and made it available on Amazon.com, I have helped oversee the beginning of our local soccer season (which included coordinating two leagues where I serve as commissioner and performing other tasks as a coach and board member), and I have finally almost kicked a cold that had been bugging me since August 3rd (yes, over a month and it is still not completely gone).

We all bite off more than we can chew from time to time, and we all need to take a break.  Last week, I took a break from blogging.  As I write my stories, I find myself wondering what my characters do to unwind.  Some of them joke around with family and friends, some go for a walk on the battlements of the citadel, and some go hunting or fishing.  All of these present opportunities to understand what motivates the character and all of them present opportunities to drive a plot in a new and interesting direction.  Beyond that, though, adding time for characters to “decompress” allows me to show their human side and helps them connect to readers.

What do you do to unwind?  If you are a writer, what do your characters do?

