Tags

, , , ,


So a whole lot of this book deals with Kirk’s internal struggles and fears.  What?  Kirk never displays those anywhere, does he?  You’d be surprised.  That chat with Dr. Marcus (the female one) in Star Trek II is all about him feeling helpless and afraid.  There are several points in the Star Trek timeline when Kirk deals with this, and my story dealt with that as well.

As I looked at the notebook, I thought I was about to post the longest scene I had done yet.  Then I noticed an editing note in the margin and realized that I put a scene break in there (which makes sense, since the part before the break happens in Kirk’s quarters and the part after takes place on the Bridge).  That would have been one messed up transition between points of view if I had left it as one scene, eh?

So instead, you get one brief scene that takes place entirely in Kirk’s quarters (and almost entirely in his head).  Kirk and his inner demons, laid bare for the reader.  Forgive my poor handling of this, I was just 16 going on 17 (and admit it to yourself, I did just make you break out in a song from the Sound of Music, didn’t I?)

…oh, because it is such a brief scene, I will give you a bonus scene (which will conclude Chapter Two).

On to the story:

Back in his quarters, Kirk’s dread once again seized him.  He thought back to the statement that someone had told him about several weeks ago.  The Klingon ambassador to the Federation Council had sworn that there would be no peace as long as Kirk lived.  What if this was a ruse?  What if the Klingons were luring him here to ambush him, knowing somehow that he was alone, that his three top advisors were temporarily gone??  He never should have trusted Korrd.  Klingons always had ulterior motives when doing something nice for the people of the Federation.  These thoughts and many others raced through his mind as he hit the switch to activate his comm unit.

“Commander Uhura, have General Korrd meet me in my quarters immediately, please,” Kirk requested.

“Certainly, sir.”

***

On the bridge, the officers wondered what this new development could mean to their present mission.

“Does it seem to you like the Captain is acting strangely?”  Sulu asked of no one in particular.

“He’s just uncomfortable because we’re going back to Nimbus III.  He especially doesn’t like it because he is unfamiliar with two of his most important officers.  Nothing personal, Bob,” stated Chekov.  “It is probably due to the fact that you base your conclusions on intuition while Mr. Spock based most of his decisions on hard facts.  Keptin Kirk likes hard facts because they are a perfect balance for his own intuition.”

“I think I can understand that,” said Soved, but he didn’t.  He had temporarily moved up from second-in-command of Sciences to first officer of the Enterprise.  He had an exemplary record and an A-6.8 computer rating.  Spock liked his intuitive abilities, so why couldn’t Kirk?  He had tried his hardest to impress Starfleet and would continue to do so.  He had to know what made Captain Kirk tick.

 

