Tags

, , , ,


The final motivation I want to discuss is the biggest one.  It combines elements of the three previous motivators I mentioned and expands them.  It is the future.

Part of the motivation I have received as a result of getting my book published is thinking about the long term implications of my work.  In terms of feedback, what will people be saying about my books for years to come?  Will readers view them as well thought out works of literature or will people see the books as fluff thrown together on a whim to make a quick buck?  Maybe both.  What will folks say about The Vergrinn War twenty, thirty, forty years from now?  Will future generations even know it existed or will it have gone the way of the “Know Nothing” political party from U.S. history – a tiny number of people know it existed and an even smaller number know anything about it?

Another aspect of my motivation related to the future is financial.  As I finish more books, the likelihood of them being discovered by a broader audience increases.  Not only that, but U.S. copyright law says that my heirs will own the rights to my works for seventy five years after my death.  That’s a long window in which someone might capitalize on this.

The final component of the motivation the future provides is my family.  I am crafting something that my kids will read.  One day I hope that my grandchildren and their children and many future generations will read.  They will be able to sit down and discuss what “that crazy old guy” wrote, along with what it means (and I hope the tale is as timeless as it is intended to be).  Maybe they will be inspired to write.  Maybe they will be inspired to read.  Either of those prospects thrills me.

