Tags

, , , ,


Summer is a time when we take life easy.  We take vacations from work and school.  We go to the lake and lie in hammocks and sip tea and lemonade.  We watch parades and play horseshoes and cook burgers on the grill and generally try to enjoy life to the fullest.

The irony is that none if this is really what living life to the fullest is all about.  Jesus said in John 10:10 that He came that we may have life, and have it more abundantly.  Solomon said in Ecclesiastes 2:10 “Whatever my eyes desired I did not keep from them. I did not withhold my heart from any pleasure, For my heart rejoiced in all my labor; And this was my reward from all my labor.” But he follows that up in verse 11 by saying “Then I looked on all the works that my hands had done And on the labor in which I had toiled; And indeed all [was] vanity and grasping for the wind. [There was] no profit under the sun.”

It doesn’t matter how much fun you have this summer (or next summer, or any other time).  Everything on earth is temporary.  The summer will end and you will have to return to work or school.  Your youth will fade and you will have to deal with the fading health and vitality of old age.  Only by obeying God can we truly receive an abundant life.

